top of page

Ready To Launch Into SS18

Hello and happy February!!

I think we can all agree that January was the longest month in the history of time (no exaggeration). I honestly feel like Christmas was about ten years ago and that surely it must be summer by now (again, no exaggeration).

In fairness, it hasn’t been all bad, my tactic to beating January was just to pack each week with the all of the activities and to not actually start my new year rituals until early Feb. There’s been post-Christmas Christmas dinners, several leaving parties for one of my favourite people who is about to leave me to run away to Vietnam for a while (whilst happy for her there is a total feeling of abandonment) and finally the most fabulous launch of the SS18 Belfast Fashion Week. I could probably credit all of the Spring vibes that came with the SS18 launch as to why I’m feeling so done with winter - it was a fabulous morning with some of the most wonderful outfits.

Held in the coolest location, the refurbished Ormeau Baths, the Belfast Fashion Week launch was truly an aesthetically dreamy one. When it comes to my seasonal wardrobe my colour palettes don’t really change dramatically, I am a year-round lover of the bright and the garish, so I was thrilled to see so many of the AW colour trends transitioning through to Spring/Summer!

Beginning with ALL THE PINK: my absolute favourite colour currently and a colour I only really introduced into my wardrobe in the last year. This wonderful colour was showcased in many monochromatic pink outfits - another trend I am obsessing over this season; Colour-Blocking. The outfits featured a mix of high street garments and some higher end pieces, all equally lust-worthy and an excellent teaser for what we can expect in the actual shows!

I personally opted for this trend when dressing for the occasion, my outfit entirely inspired by my new statement coat from Topshop. A jacket that I am seeing more and more on my Instagram feed which is fabulous to see many different ways to style such a statement piece. As the coat was on the more expensive side of the high street I paired it with items I already had: a pair of Mango trousers I have had for a few years, which I was delighted to see Gucci had brought out a pair very similar in their current collection for slightly more money than mango, just slightly more. I then paired them with a ruffled blouse from Zara that added a more neutral base to the outfit with pops of colour in the green and pink flowers.

Finally, I accessorised with my Ted Baker handbag from last year, a pink/purple-hued bag with rose gold hardware and my stunning green satin, oriental style boots from Zara - possibly the most beautiful but uncomfortable boots ever. I was so pleased to see the boots on the catwalk with the next theme of the season: Green.

Green is another colour that is huge this coming season, the brighter and warmer the better. To me, it’s a colour I’ve never really had in my wardrobe before, other than the odd dark forest green piece so I’m very much looking forward to introducing it a bit more! The outfits shown on the models would inspire anyone to try it out - my favourite being the OTT green striped suit. The suit having the most amazing green beetle juice vibes ever.

Finally, purple was the last colour that featured on the catwalk. A colour that perfectly compliments more spring/summer items and can be paired with pink for all of the colour clashing! Lilac, in particular, is to be massive this season and rightly so, it’s a colour that hasn’t featured as much in the recent seasons but is back with a bang!

If the launch was anything to go by both the High Street Heaven Show and the Designer Show should be absolutely fabulous and super inspiring to our spring summer wardrobes. Not to plan too far ahead but I have both my outfits already planned for both shows, my designer outfit being the most amazing item my wardrobe has ever seen! All will be revealed....

You can get your tickets here and I seriously suggest you move fast as the front seats for the designer show are already sold out! So be quick!

May your SS18 wardrobe be fabulous and your February even better.

Thanks for reading!

M x

You can follow me on Instagram here.


bottom of page